Monthly Archives: June 2011

Stacey featuring The Ice Techs wins ACC Spring League championship

For the second year in a row, a team Skipped by Matt Lyons has won the Anthracite Curling Club league championship.

Stacey featuring The Ice Techs (Brandon Jackson at Vice, Tom McGreevy as Second and Stacey Berkoski as Lead) defeated Team Piatt, 10-4, to win a second-consecutive title. The victory was the culmination of an amazing season turnaround, going from tied for last place after six weeks, to the title just two months later. Continue reading

Championship draw set: Piatt vs. Stacey feat. Ice Techs

The Championship draw at the 2011 Funspiel is set.

Team Piatt clinched the Fell Conference on Friday night with a 7-6 victory over Maasome. They’ll be opposed by Stacey feat. Ice Techs, which won its fifth consecutive game on Friday, topping Team Leonard (nee Grassi), 7-4. That win combined with losses from three other conference foes propelled Skip Matt Lyons back into the Championship game.

Six games ago, Lyons’ team was at 2-4 and tied for last in the Smith Conference. A winning streak of five games came at just the right time.

In the other draws on Friday night, Little Lebowskis finished their season at 5-6 and also got hot at the end, defeating Happy Hour, 10-6. The Squirrels fell to another spoiler-minded team in Cracked Ice, which won its last three games of the season, including Friday night’s win over the Smith Conference’s previous first place Squirrels, 5-1. Bitter End’s 7-5 defeat of Goody’s ensured the team of a 5-6 record, meaning the difference between first and last in that table was just two games.

In the other late draw, MLC finished the season with a 7-4 record after defeating Team Cawley, 10-2. Both MLC and the Squirrels lost the Conference Record tie-breaker to finish in second place.