Category Archives: 2011 League

Rink conflict causes league scheduling changes

The June 11 curling session has been canceled due to matters out of the Club’s control. The rink was rented to another group for the day.

This will result in the following changes to the Spring 2011 League schedule: Continue reading

Wild finish caps off exciting beginning to final month

NOTE: Due to the scheduling change in the final three weeks of the season, information regarding places in the standings and games remaining in this post is incorrect.

Curling, we’re learning, is a game of inches. Literally inches.

Happy Hour defeated Squirrels, 6-3, on Tuesday night. At plain sight, the win pulls Happy Hour to within one game of the Smith Conference leading Squirrels, which suffered a second consecutive defeat after starting the season 7-0.

Leading by 2 going into the 6th end, Happy Hour Skip Eddie Perrino was able to get a favorable carom in the house and his second shot sat slightly behind cover. If Squirrels Skip Joshua Sophy was able to remove Perrino’s stone, his side would take 3 in the final end for the dramatic victory. Continue reading

Week 8 results set-up exciting final month

It was Cowboy Hat night on Tuesday. Several teams participated, including Little Lebowskis, Team Piatt and Cracked Ice.

The last month of the Spring 2011 League season promises to be filled with some good curling between teams with budding championship aspirations.

In Week 8, the league’s last undefeated team lost, another team continued a month-long winning streak and at night’s end, four teams were within two games of first place in the Fell Conference.

After the latest draws, there are just four weeks remaining in the regular season. It seems like not that long ago we just started. Continue reading

Spring League | Week 8

Location: The Ice Rink at Coal Street
Description: Six draws are on the calendar, with the first three starting at 6 p.m. in Week 8 of Spring league action.

At 6 p.m., Bitter End faces Happy Hour, Goody’s will play Cracked Ice, and Team Cawley takes on the Squirrels. The late-night draws feature three teams, one per Sheet, tied for first place in the Fell Conference.

On Sheet 1, MLC plays Team Grassi. On Sheet 2, Maasome will face Stacey featuring The Ice Techs and on Sheet 3, conference leaders Team Piatt will play the Little Lebowskis.

Attendance is always free at The Ice Rink so come see the coolest sport in Northeast Pa.
Start Time: 6:00 p.m.
End Time: 10:00 p.m.

Funspiel, championship date set

Anthracite Curling Club will host the annual Funspiel 2011 on Tues., June 21, from 6 p.m. until 10 p.m. at The Ice Rink at Coal Street in Wilkes-Barre, Pa.

The Championship match of the Spring 2011 League is scheduled for 8 p.m. on Sheet 1. That draw will feature the champions of the Smith and Fell conferences.

Weather permitting, there will be a charcoal grill, hot dogs, buns, condiments provided by Char Hick (Cracked Ice). All members are encouraged to attend and please feel free to bring food/drinks to share. There will be a list of items people will be bringing at future League nights, so check the list, and sign-up. There are still plates, napkins, utensils and cups.

Guests are encouraged! This would be the perfect opportunity to introduce your friends and family to what you do and to meet fellow club members.